National eGovernance Award 2012-13


Feb 23, 2014 (7 years and 5 months ago)


National eGovernance Award 2012

Electronic Benefit Transfer through Pragya Kendras

In order to achieve
its objective of
direct cash transfer to end beneficiary through
financial institution government of Jharkhand
initiatives had shown remarkable figu
as compared to other states and UT.
Started in Dec 2010, the Panchayat bank


Pragya Kendra project had moved through the evolutionary process and has gained
momentum. Initially, with specific reference to MNREGA benefit disbursals, a one
block one
bank concept was taken up and it was decided that all beneficiaries would be
served by a specific bank in respective panchayats so that the payments could be
streamlined. With the allocation of
all 260

blocks to various banks, especially SBI and
Bank of In
dia, it was later found that the kiosk banking model and online biometric
authentication model of SBI scored above the rest of the smart card models. In 2011 it
was thus decided by the State that the kiosk banking model would be the preferred
model and sma
rt cards would not be allowed for electronic benefit transfer scheme.

Soon, Bank of India adopted the model and started working in panchayas with CSCs
aggressively. Both the banks, SBI and Bank of India, till Dec 2012, operationalized 450
CSCs as Panchaya
t bank


pragya kendras and even tested the Aadhar based
transactions. In Oct 2012, Ramgarh district was awar
ed the best performer in Aadhar
based payment disbursals.
In all approx Rs 4.5 cr govt benefit payments have been
disbursed with approx 1 lak
h new beneficiaries added to the platform. Payments are
being made for MNREGA, Scholarships, Old age pensions and Widow pension

The Govt of Jharkhand had, in Aug 2012, under the guidance of the Development
Commissioner, directed all relevant depa
rtments to start integrating to the project.
Aadhar will be a natural authentication process. Banks have now been directed to work
on the model and start operationalizing all 4562 panchayats as panchayat banks and start
disbursals by July 2013.

to the nomination of the project in the National eGovernance Awards 2012
13, after studies by the reviewing team, the State has been awarded the Silver medal in
the “Exemplary reuse of ICT” category. This is a prestigious award for the State as the

has not only concentrated on actual service to citizens, it basically integrates
available projects and infrastructure for the betterment of citizen convenience.

The team of awardeees is led by Sri N N Sinha, Principal Secretary,
ept of IT, Govt of
Sri A K Satyajeet OSD JAPIT; Sri Rajesh Prasad, Manager CSC
eGovernance Service
s India Ltd, Sri Damodar Reddy S
r Manager United Telecoms Ltd,
Sri Shashi Bharat Manager Alternative of India Development form the team who
contributed to the success of
the project.

As Sri N N Sinha could not personally receive the award, the same was received by Dr.
Pravin Jha, Special secretary, Department of Information Technology, Govt. Of

on 11.02.2013
. The awards were given jointly by Chief Minister of Ra
Shri Ashok Gehlot and Shri V Narayansami, Minister of State, Govt. Of India