Java Servlets and Java Server Pages

milklivereddeepInternet and Web Development

Nov 13, 2013 (3 years and 8 months ago)

60 views

Advanced Technology &
Management Programs
Internet
What You Need to Know:
Course Code: IT00102501
Live Satellite Broadcast
Date:Wednesday, October 25, 2000
Time:8am-11am Pacific
9am-noon Mountain
10am-1pm Central
11 am-2 pm Eastern
CEU:0.3
Sponsor:Southern Methodist
University
Who to contact for more
information:
• Your Site Coordinator
• NTU’s Web pages: www.ntu.edu
(ATMP non-credit courses link)
• Call NTU at (800) 582-9976
Electronic Forum
www.ntu.edu or
ATMPforum@mail.ntu.edu
Dr. Frank Coyle
is on the faculty of
the Computer
Science Depart-
ment at Southern
Methodist Univer-
sity where he is
director of the
Software Engineer-
ing Program. He
has worked with
object technology since the mid-1980s and
has developed systems in both Smalltalk and
Java. His industrial experience allows him to
bring a practical perspective to the problems
of software development. He is a frequent
speaker at national Java conferences and a
recipient of the SMU Graduate Teaching
Award. Dr. Coyle received a B.S. from
Fordham College, an M.S. from Georgia
Tech and a Ph.D. from SMU.
Java Servlets and Java Server
Pages (JSPs) provide a compo-
nent-based, platform-independent
method for building web-based
applications. Both Servlets and
JSPs provide an effective, light-
weight alternative to CGI pro-
grams, allowing Java programmers to build pure-Java web-based solu-
tions. Because they are written in Java, Servlets and JSPs have access to
the entire family of Java APIs, including JDBC to access enterprise
databases as well as Enterprise Java Beans to connect to component
frameworks. This course shows through code examples how Servlets
and JSPs may be integrated to provide web developers with a simple,
consistent mechanism for extending the functionality of a web server and
accessing existing business systems.
PREREQUISITES:
One year or more of programming in Java or C++
BENEFITS:
After completing this course you will be able to:
∙ Understand how HTTP forms the basis for web communication
∙ Build Servlets to handle web requests
∙ Use Servlets to connect to local programs and databases
∙ Integrate Servlets with JSPs - know when to use which
∙ Build Web server applications that extend to databases and Enterprise
Java Bean components
INTENDED AUDIENCE:
Programmers and developers with experience in Java or C++
Presenter:
Java Servlets and
Java Server Pages
Course Outline and Learning Objectives
Java Servlets and Java Server Pages
∙Fundamentals of the HTTP protocol
∙Servlet class hierarchy and interfaces
∙Handling server GET and POST requests
∙Using Java Server pages as templates for web content
∙Servlet-JSP integration
∙∙Making connections from Servlets and JSPs to
Enterprise Java Beans