2012 IBM Beacon Awards Overview

honorableclunkSoftware and s/w Development

Oct 30, 2013 (4 years and 7 months ago)


2012 IBM Beacon Awards Overview

September 2011


Program Overview

The Beacon Awards is a statement of IBM’s public recognition of an
elite group of its business partners to the channel community and IT

The IBM Beacon Awards recognize the best solutions IBM Business Partners deliver across
our business and around the world.

The Beacon Award is synonymous with excellence and innovation in the IT industry.

Advance and Premier Business Partners are eligible to nominate solutions for awards

The Beacon Awards celebrated it’s 12

year in market this year


Winning a Beacon Award can result in worldwide industry recognition and promotional
opportunities that can increase visibility.

Winners consider the award as recognition that can help them create competitive
advantages, with more business, and raise their profile in the industry.


IBM Business Partners that are Advanced and Premier members of PartnerWorld


Web facing starting point...



2012 Beacon Award Benefits

Benefits for all Beacon Award Winners/Finalists

Complimentary registration to an exclusive IBM event

Promotion of winners and finalists on the PartnerWorld Web site

Use of Beacon Award marks for one year

Crystal trophy

Winners will also receive:

Press and analyst support

Videotaped testimonial to be distributed through IBM communications


2012 Beacon Award Categories

Smarter Computing:

Smarter Computing: Cloud Computing Innovation

Cloud Builder

Smarter Computing: Cloud Computing Innovation

Cloud Application Provider

Smarter Computing: Cloud Computing Innovation

Cloud Services Solution Provider

Smarter Computing: Outstanding Business Analytics Innovation

Smarter Computing: Outstanding Information Management Innovation

Smarter Computing: Outstanding Systems Storage Solution

Smarter Computing: Outstanding Optimized Solutions on Enterprise Servers for
Business Innovation and Economic Benefit

Smarter Computing: Outstanding Optimized Workload Solution

System x and

Smarter Computing: Outstanding Optimized Workload Solution

Power Systems


2012 Beacon Award Categories

Smarter Solutions:

Outstanding Business Agility Solution

Outstanding Business Transformation through Becoming a Social Business

Outstanding Integrated Service Management Solution

Outstanding Security Solution

Outstanding Services Solution with Global Technology Services

Outstanding Software Innovation

Outstanding Integrated Hardware, Software and Services Innovation

Outstanding Competitive Solution

Outstanding Solution for Midsize Businesses


2012 Beacon Award Categories

Smarter Industries:

Best Industry Solution for Banking

Best Industry Solution for Communications

Best Industry Solution for Energy & Utilities

Best Industry Solution for Government

Best Industry Solution for Healthcare

Best Industry Solution for Insurance

Best Industry Solution for Retail

Technical Excellence:

Outstanding Technical Vitality


Key Requirements

Select which Award you want to nominate

Complete your profile and nomination form

Complete a minimum of 1 reference



Key 2012 Beacon Awards Eligibility Rules

Below are some of the key guidelines for IBM Business Partners who want to submit a nomination for a
Beacon Award:

IBM Business Partners must be Advanced or Premier IBM PartnerWorld participants as of October 28, 2011
11:59 pm EDT

Nominations must be submitted in English. [Please note the solution may be developed in any language,
but the entry itself must be submitted in the English language.]

The nomination deadline is November 1, 2011 at 11:59 pm EDT (New York).

Solutions nominated in prior years that were not selected as Beacon Award winners or finalists may be
nominated for consideration provided they were substantially improved in 2011. Solutions that have already
been recognized as Beacon Award winners in previous years are not eligible.

The same solution can not be submitted for multiple awards.

IBM Business Partners can submit nominations for a maximum of three awards

Each award submission must include a completed nomination form and a minimum of at least one customer
reference. Your nomination will be considered complete and eligible for judging once both components are

IBM’s decisions are final. IBM reserves the right to modify or eliminate categories and the stated procedures
and/or criteria in whole or in part at any time without notice.

Judging of the Beacon Awards is conducted by a panel of internal and external judges.

The judging period will conclude in mid
December and winners and finalists will be notified immediately

Eligible solutions must have been implemented within the last 12 months.

If you have questions or require additional information, please contact

Complete list of all Eligibility Rules:



If you have questions or require additional information, please

Link to Beacon Award 2011 website: