Penn Center for Musculoskeletal Disorders

gapingthingsUrban and Civil

Nov 15, 2013 (3 years and 7 months ago)

90 views

Penn Center for Musculoskeletal Disorders

Current Members




Joseph A. Abboud

Clinical Assistant Professor of
Orthopaedic Surgery

josephabboud@uphs.upenn.edu

shoulder surgery, arthroscopy,
cholesterol and tendon healing

Carolyn W. Gibs
on

Professor of Anatomy & Cell
Biology

gibson@biochem.dental.upenn.edu

regulation of enamel formation,
amelogenesis imperfecta, tooth
development, effects of fluoride

Michael Pack

Associate Professor of Medicine
and Cell and Developmental
Biology
mpack@mail.med.upenn.edu

zebrafish, developmental biology,
intestine, liver, panc
reas, genetics


Sherrill L. Adams

Professor of Biochemistry

sherri@biochem.dental.upenn.edu

type III collagen, skeletal
development, ECM during
differentiation and development,
chondrocyte maturation

David L. Glaser

Assista
nt Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

david.glaser@uphs.upenn.edu

shoulder surgery, rotator cuff
tendon healing, gene therapy
technologies of tendon healing and
bone formation

Robert Pignolo

Assistant Professor of Medicine

pignolo@mail.med.upenn.edu

geriatrics, cellular senescence,
osteoporosis and metabolic bone
disease, osteobiology

of aging,
stem cells, differentiation, and aging

Jaimo Ahn

Assistant Professor

of Orthopaedic
Surgery

Jaimo.Ahn@uphs.upenn.edu


ch
aracterization and stimulation of
fracture healing; induction and
regulation of bone formation;
optimization of healing after
orthopaedic trauma; outcomes based
orthopaedic trauma care; surgical
decision making; development of the
clinician
-
scientist

Jerry D. Glickson

Professor & Director of Molecular
Imaging

glickson@mail.med.upenn.edu

molecular imaging, magnetic
resonance,
cancer detection

Kathleen Propert

Professor of Biostatistics

propert@mail.med.upenn.edu

biostatistics, optimal design, clinical
trials, translationa
l, urology, pain

Sunday O. Akintoye

Assistant Professor of Oral Medicine

akintoye@dental.upenn.edu

orofacial

bone marrow stromal stem
cells, osseous defects in the
maxillofacial region, dental metabolic
bone diseases

Yale E. Goldman

Professor of Physiology

goldmany@mail.med.upenn.edu

actin, molecular motor, motility,
myosin, structural dynamics,
fluorescence, muscle, ribosome,
protein synthesis, G
-
Protein,
ATPase, laser photolysis, caged
ATP, optical trap

Sally Pullman
-
Mooar

Associate Professor of Clinical
Medicine

Sally.Pullman
-
Mooar@va.gov

traumatic OA, early diagnosis of OA
with biomarkers for cartilag
e
damage,
degenerative disc
disease, Vitamin D

and Vit
amin D

receptors as relates to various
(non
-
osteoporotic) problems with
aging and the immune system as
well as radiology/imaging

Abass
Alavi

Professor of Radiology

abass.alavi@uphs.upenn.edu

positron emission tomography, single
photon emission tomography, MRI,
functional brain imaging; cerebral
Ellis Eckstein Golub

Professor of Biochemistry

ellis@biochem.dental.upenn.edu

calcification of hard tissues,
computer applications in
biochemistry and molecular biology

Reed E. Pyeritz

Professor of Medicine & Genetics

reed.pyeritz@uphs.upenn.edu

mendelian disorders of the
cardiovascular system
, genetic risk
factors for atherosclerosis and their
blood flow; metabolism

management, Marfan syndrome
(MFS), osteogenesis imperfecta

Kristy B. Arbogast

Research Assistant Professor of
Pediatrics

arbogast@email.chop.edu

pediatric biomechanics,
biomechanical epidemiology, traffic
injury, CChIPS

Michael Granato

Professor of Cell and

Developmental Biology

granatom@mail.med.upenn.edu

axonal guidance, motoneuron,
neuromuscular junction, nerve
muscle interactions, zebrafish
behavior

Ling Qin

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

qinling@mail.med.upenn.edu

bone metabolism, cancer bone
metastasis, stem cell, signal
transduction, transcriptio
nal
regulation, growth factors

Yair Argon

Professor of Pathology and Lab
Medicine, Chief, Division of Cell
Pathology
yargon@ma
il.med.upenn.edu
m
olecular chaperones, stress
proteins, insulin like growth factors,
muscle differentiation, muscular
injury

Struan Grant

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

grants@chop.edu;
grants@mail.med.upenn.edu

genetics, bone, pediatrics,
prevention of obesity and
osteoporosis

A
rjun Raj

Assistant Professor of
Bioengineering

arjunraj@seas.upenn.edu

RNA systems biology, non
-
coding
RNA, development, cancer

Donald A.
Baldwin

Associate Professor of Pathology
and Laboratory Medicine

dbaldwin@mail.med.upenn.edu

transcription regulation, chromatin
remodeling, host
-
pathogen
interactions, and genomics
technology development

Kurt D. Hankenson

Assistant Professor of Cell Biology

kdhank@vet.upenn.edu

mesenchymal stem cell,
o
steoblast, adipocyte, extracellular
matrix, Thrombospondin, Wnt,
Notch, BMP

Ravinder Reddy

Professor of Radiology

ravi@mail.mmrrcc.upenn.edu

multinuclear MRI and spectroscopic
techniques, arthritis, stroke,
cartilage and proteoglycan
detection

Frederic G. Barr

Associate Professor of Pathol
ogy &
Laboratory Medicine

barrfg@mail.med.upenn.edu

chromosomal translocations, paired
box transcription factors, pediatric
malignancy rhabdomyosarcoma

Mark Haskins

Professor of Pathology and
Medical Genetics

mhaskins@vet.upenn.edu

animal models, dogs, cats,
lysosomal storage disease,
mucopolysaccharidosis,
glycosaminoglycan

Dean W. Richardson, DVM,
DACVS

Charles W. Raker Professor of
Surgery
,
Chief of Large Animal
Surgery

dwr@vet.u
penn.edu

fracture repair, o
steoarthritis

c
artilage repair
, g
ene therapy
(arthritis and laminitis)

Elisabeth Barton

Assistant Professor of Anatomy and
Cell Biology

erbarton@biochem.dental.upenn.edu

skeletal muscle repair; mechanical
transduction in muscle; Insulin
-
like
growth factor, muscular dystrophy,
IGF
-
I,TMJ, rotator cuff injury, DGC

Nader M. Hebela

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

nader.hebela@uphs.upenn.edu

spine surgery, biology of bone
formation in spine and extremitie
s,
disc degeneration

Steven S. Scherer

William N. Kelley Professor of
Neurology

steven.scherer@uphs.upenn.edu

neurology, pathogenesis of
p
eripheral neuropathies, axon
regeneration in peripheral nerves,
molecular organization of
myelinated axons, Schwann cell
culture

Avinash Bhandoola

Associate Professor of Pathology
and Laboratory Medicine

Edwin M. Horwitz

Associate Professor of Pediatrics

horwitze@email.chop.edu

Brian J. Sennett

Associate Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

bhandooa@mail.med.upenn.edu

hematopoietic stem cells; progenitor
migration; notch signaling; stem cell
aging

stem cells, marrow
osteoprogenitors, cell therapy,
stem cell transplantation, genetic
disorders

brian.sennett@uphs.upenn.edu

sports medicine surgery, meniscus,
fetal,
transplantation, repair, and
scaffold

Michael Brennick

Research Assistant Professor of
Medicine

brennick@mail.med.u
penn.edu

m
agnetic resonance imaging
,

o
bstructive sleep apnea
,
p
haryngeal
muscles
,
u
pper airway patency

g
enioglossus muscle
,
h
ypoglossal
nerve stimulation
,
Zucker rats
-

o
besity

G. Russell Huffman

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

russell.huffman@uphs.upenn.edu

shoulder and elbow sur
gery, sports
medicine, cartilage and meniscus
restoration

Eileen M. Shore

Research Associate Professor of
Orthopaedic Surgery and Genetics

shore@mail.med.upenn.edu

bone formation, cell differentiation,
molecular, cell, developmental
biology, inherited diseases, bone,
cartilage, BMP, GNAS, FOP, POH

Jason A. Burdick

Wilf

Family Term Assistant Professor
of Bioengineering

burdick2@seas.upenn.edu

scaffolding for cell and growth factor
delivery, bone and cartilage
regeneration, stem cell
differentiation, influence of monomer
stru
cture on network properties

Olena Jacenko

Associate Professor of Animal
Biology

jacenko@vet.upenn.edu

molecular mechanisms of sk
eletal
development, hematopoietic
disorders

Gail K. Smith

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

smithgk
@vet.upenn.edu

or
thopaedic veterinary medicine,
c
anine hip dysplasia (CHD),
osteoarthritis (OA) of the hip,
PennHIP radiographic procedure

Michael Paul Cancro

Professor

of Pathology and
Laboratory Medicine

cancro@mail.med.upenn.edu

B lymphocyte development, selection
and homeostasis; immunobiology of
aging

Ian N. Jacobs

Associate Professor of
Otorhinolaryngology

jacobsi@email.chop.edu

tissue
-
engineered cartilage, grafts
in laryngotracheal reconstruction

Neal John Sondheimer

Clinical Associate Professor of
Pediatrics

sondheimer@email.chop.edu

translational research into
mitochondrial disorders,
mitochondri
al genome

Christopher S. Chen

Skirkanich Associate Professor of
Innovation in Bioengineering

chrischen@seas.upenn.edu

angiogenesis, ste
m cells, vascular
biology, mechanotransduction,
extracellular matrix, integrins,
cadherins, cell adhesion,
cytoskeleton, Rho

Frederick S. Kaplan

Isaac an
d Rose Nassau Professor
of Orthopaedic Molecular Medicine

fkaplan@mail.med.upenn.edu

fibrodysplasia ossificans prognosis
(FOP), heterotopic ossification,
metabolic bone disease,
osteomalacia, osteoporosis,
Paget's disease

Hee Kwon Song

Assistant Professor of Radiological
Science

hsong@uphs.upenn.edu

novel DCE
-
MRI methodologies
based on
radial data acquisition;
novel motion compensation
strategies; in vivo iron quantification
techniques

Youhai Harry Chen

Associate Professor of Pathology &
Laboratory Medicine

yhc@mail.med.upenn.edu

gene therapy, genomics,
autoimmune diseases, TLR, innate
immunity, immunologic tolerance,
apoptosis, and therapeutics

Tejvir S. Khurana

As
sistant Professor of Physiology

tsk@mail.med.upenn.edu

Duchenne's muscular d
ystrophy
(DMD), utrophin promoter in
muscle, extraocular muscle,
synapses; neuromuscular
junctions; imaging; growth;
strength; myostat
in; utrophin;
hypoxia

Louis J. Soslowsky

Fairhill Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery & Bioengineering

soslowsk@mail.med.upenn.edu

orthopaedic biomechanics, tendon
and ligament injury, repair and
regeneration, shoulder and joint
biomechanics

Yongwon Choi

Professor of Patho
logy and
Laboratory Medicine

ychoi3@mail.med.upenn.edu

dendritic cell regulation of t
-
cells,
osteoclast activation

Jung
-
hoon Kim

Instructor of Geriatric Medicine

Jung
-
Hoon.Kim@uphs.upenn.edu

Age
-
related bone disease,
osteoporosis and related metabolic
bone disease, pathophysiologic
roles of osteogenic cells in on age
-
related bone a
nd vascular diseases

Hansell Stedman

Associate Professor of Surgery

hstedman@mail.med.upenn.edu

muscular dystrophy,
pathophysiology

of muscle d
isease,

myosin, molecular therapy, s
urgery


Margaret M. Chou

Assistant Professor of Cell and
Developmental Biology

mmc@mail.med.upenn.edu

G proteins, transformation, vesicular
trafficking, ubiquitination

Sharon L. Kolasinski

Associate Profess
or of Clinical
Medicine

sharonk@mail.med.upenn.edu

rheumatology, osteoarthritis,
osteoporosis, diagnosis, imaging
techniques, complementary and
alternative medicine, clinical
outcomes

Kathleen E. Sullivan

Professor of Pediatrics

Chief, Division of Allergy
Immunology

sullivak@mail.med.upenn.edu

l
upus, inflammation, epigenetics

Charles C. Clark

Associate Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

ccclark@mail.med.upenn.edu

articular

cartilage and bone healing,
effects of electrical stimulation on the
regulation of gene expression,
production of matrix molecules and
metalloproteinases

Richar
d D. Lackman

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery,
Paul B. Magnuson Professor of
Bone and Joint Surgery

rilack@pahosp.com

benign and malignant soft tissue
and bone tumors, metastasis bone
disease, multiple myeoloma
chon
drosarcoma, molecular
biology of sarcoma

H. Lee Sweeney

William Maul Measey Professor and
Chairman of Physiology

lsweeney@mail.med.upe
nn.edu

molecular motors; muscle injury
and disease; gene transfer into
striated muscle; myofibrillogenesis

Marcella Devoto

Associate Professor of Pediatrics

devoto@email.chop.edu

complex traits genetics, genetic
epidemiology, quantitative traits
mapping, bone mineral density

Mary B. Leonard

Associate Professor of Pedi
atrics
and Epidemiology

leonard@email.chop.edu

Crohn's disease, juvenile idiopathic
arthritis, effects of renal
osteodystrophy on bone structure
and muscle function, osteopenia

Fotios Tjoumakaris

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

fotios.tjoumakaris@uphs.upenn.edu

articular

cartilage, osteoarthritis,
ligament, ACL reconstruction

Dennis Discher

Professor of Biophysical Engineering

discher@seas.upenn.edu

skeletal muscle and contractility
,

mesenchymal stem cells,
nano
-
mechanic
s of tissues, cells, and
nuclei,
proteomic methods

L. Scott Levin

Chair, Orthopaedic Surgery

scott.levin@uphs.upenn.edu

hand surgery, microsurgical
extremity reconstruction, composite
tissue allotransplantation

Wei Tong

Assistant Professor of Hematology,
Dept. of Pediatrics

tongw@em
ail.chop.edu

hematopoiesis, leukemia, stem
cells, cytokine receptor, signaling

John Paul Dormans

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

dormans@email.chop.edu

pediatric orthopaedics, tumors,
cervical spine disorders, injuries to
children's musculoskeletal systems

Michael A. Le
vine

Professor of Pediatrics

levinem@email.chop.edu

parathyroid; PTH; developmental
biology; osteoporosis; osteoclast;
osteoimmunology; G proteins

Susan W. Volk

Assistant Professor of Small Animal
Surgery

swvolk@vet.upenn.edu

extracellular matrix, collagen,
wound healing, stem
cells, and
regenerative medicine

Paul Ducheyne

Professor of Bioengineering

ducheyne@seas.upenn.edu

biomaterials and tissue engineering;
in vitr
o synthesis of musculoskeletal
tissues; controlled release of growth
factors and effect of material
selection; bioactive ceramics, porous
metals, materials engineering,
orthopaedic and dental applications,
implant retrieval and analysis

Kathleen M. Loomes

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

loomes@email.chop.edu

genetics of liver and bile duct
development, Jag1

Felix W. Wehrli

Professor of Radiologic Science

wehrli@mail.med.upenn.edu

development of image
-
based
methods toward the understanding
of ti
ssue architecture, physiology
and function and their applications
to clinical medicine

Dawn M. Elliott

Associate Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery & Bioengineering

delliott@mail.med.upenn.edu

biomechanics, intervertebral disc,
tendon, ligament, meniscus,
cartilage, aging, degeneration, injury

Neil R. Malh
otra

Assistant Professor of Neurological
Surgery

neil.malhotra@uphs.upenn.edu

spine surgery, disc degeneration,
scaffolding for cell and growth
factor delivery, injectable implants
for degeneration, metastatic

spine
bone disease, biomechanics,
intervertebral disc, aging, injury



Lawrence Wells

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

wellsl@email.chop.edu

articular cartilage injury and repair
mechanisms, avascular necrosis,
stress fractures in adolescents,
post
-
operative pain management in
ambulatory surgery patients

John L. Esterhai

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

esterhai@mail.med.upenn.edu

musculoskeletal infections including
osteomyelitis, fracture nonunion,
multiple trauma

Robert L. Mauck

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery & Bioengineering

lemauck@mail.med.upenn.edu

cartilage, meniscus, tissue
engineering, biomaterials,
mechanobiology, cartilage
development, mesenchymal stem
cells

Beth A. Winkelstein

Associate Professor of
Bioengineering

winkelst@seas.upenn.edu

biomechanics of neck injuries;
mechanical and cellular
mechanisms of pain onset and
persistence; CNS neuroimmune
responses of pain; cervical spine
biomechanics; injury mechanics

Shannon Fisher

Assistant Professor of Cell and
Developmental Biology

sfisher4@upenn.edu

zebrafish, skeletal development,
osteoblast differentiation,

transcriptional regulatio
n

Samir Mehta

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

samir.mehta@uphs.upenn.edu

orthopaedic trauma,
periarticular
fractures, fracture healing, bone,
pelvic fractures, acetabular
fractures, nonunions, malunions


Alexander C. Wright

Research Assistant Professor of
Radiology

alexander.wright@uphs.upenn.edu

development of techniques toward
cellular MR microscopy of tissues;
design of cryogenically cooled RF
coils for increased SNR


Theodore J. Ganley

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic
Surgery

ganley@email.chop.edu

ACL surgery in young athletes,
osteochond
ritis dissecans, cartilage
preservation surgery, meniscus
surgery, shoulder surgery, pediatric
fractures

Michael Ostap

Director, Pennsylvania Muscle
Institute

Professor of Physiology

ostap@mail.med.upenn.edu

m
yosin, actin, contractility, motility,
biochemistry, biophysics, single
-
molecule

Arjun Yodh

Professor of Science

yodh@dept.physics.upenn.edu

experimental condensed matter
physics and biomedical optics;
fluids and networks, carbon
nanotubes, laser spectroscopy,
optical microsopy &
micromanipulation, functional
imaging


Maurizio Pacifici

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

skeletal development and growth;
synovial joint

formation and morphogenesis;
acquired and congenital skeletal

pathologie
s including heterotopic
ossification (HO), Hereditary

Multiple Exostoses (HME) and
Developmental Dysplasia of the
Hip (DDH)

Babette S. Zemel

Research Associate Professor of
Pediatrics

zemel@email.chop.edu

childhood growth and nutrition,
body composition, energy
expenditure and bone density
across the lifespan, patterns of
bone mineralization






Kimberly Agnello

Assistant Professor of Small Animal
Orthopedic Surgery

kagnello@vet.upenn.edu

orthopedic v
eterinary
medicine/s
urgery

arthroscopy/m
inimally

invasive
orthopedic surgery
,

m
eniscus
,
ACL reconstruction
,

OA




New Members
-
since fall
2010


Kaori Ihida
-
Stansbury

Research Assistant Professor

ikaori@mail.med.upenn.edu

vascular development, extracellular
matrix, stem/progenitor cell
differentiation
, r
egenerative
medicine, decellularized scaffolds,
ultrafine structure






Michael Ostap

Professor of Physiology

ostap@mail.med.upenn.edu

m
yosin, actin, contractility, motility,
biochemistry, biophysics, single
-
molecule

Eric L. Hume

Assistant Professor of Clinical
Orthopaedic Surgery

Eric.Hume@uphs.upenn.edu

h
ip arthroplasty
, k
nee arthroplasty
,

c
eramic hip bearings
,

k
nee navigation
,o
steoarthritis
,

b
one mechanics

Eiki Koyama

Associate Professor

of Orthopedic
Research

KoyamaE@email.chop.edu

a
ppendicular, axial and craniofacial
development
,
Hereditary Multiple
Exostosis (HME)
,

s
ynovial joint
development

Kathleen Sullivan

Professor of Pediatrics

Chief, Division of Allergy
Immunology

sullivak@mail.med.upenn.edu

l
upus, inflammation, ep
igenetics


Said Ibrahim

Professor of Medicine and Vice Chair
Department of Medicine

ibrahims@mail.med.upenn.edu

h
ealth disparities,
racial disparity,
joint replacement, osteoarthritis,
knee/hip OA, utilization

Mary Mullins

Professor

of Cell and
Developmental Biology

mullins@mail.med.upenn.edu

bone morphogenetic protein
signaling, zebrafish, fibrodysplasia
ossificans p
rogressiva, BMP

antagonists, BMP regulation